Jun 28
Disable the SharePoint Site Personal Permissions

There are a number of good reasons that you may want to disable the functionality to allow End-Users the ability to create and explore the Personalize this Page option available in the User actions drop down list.

  • Many End-users may become confused or overwhelmed by the thought that they may harm a webpage by closing, adding, or deleting webparts on a SharePoint page. This functionality to your casual End-user may leave a gap in the understanding of how and why this is used and thus you need to strongly encourage a good communications strategy to overview this functionality.
    • For example, the announcements web part can be minimized or deleted by the End-user in their Personal page view. This causes confusion and thus leads to troubleshooting and a lack of confidence by your consumers. You must ask yourself if this adds value to the End-user, if not disable it.

STEP TO DISABLE (FARM ADMINS)

  • Log into the SharePoint Central Administration page > Application Management > Manage web applications > Choose the Web App > Choose the Web Applications Ribbon > User Permissions
    • The popup form them gives you a number of resources to disable.
      • In this case you will scroll to the bottom of the list and uncheck the following under the Personal Permissions grouping
        • Manage Personal Views
        • Add/Remove Personal Web Parts
        • Update Personal Web Parts

Comments

There are no comments for this post.

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Blog Tools